Don’t Shout At A Girl On the Street

If you think “feminism” is a scary word then I am forced to believe you are uneducated on what feminism means. And so I shall educate you:

Feminism:

fem-i-nism  noun  \ˈfe-mə-ˌni-zəm\

: the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities

And with that I shall tell you that not all feminists are “man hating psychos who want misogynists to feel their wrath and wish to have women overthrow the government.” So when I say that feminism is something important to me, know that I don’t hate men. I’m not a “feminazi.” I just want equal rights and treatment. I don’t want any man putting his hands on me when I haven’t asked me to, calling me inappropriate names, or treating me as less than I am.

As a woman I have never dog whistled at a man. I’ve never shouted on the street “hey babe wanna come get in my car,” and yes this has been something I’ve heard on the street. So I would expect no man to ever say these things to me, frankly because I’ve never said them to a man. If any girl treated a boy the same way she was treated, things would just get creepy.

Sure, it’s okay for boys to whistle at girls on the street. But if a girl every did that to a boy? It would be the end of the world. Or how about the creepy text messages, facebook messages, and DMs on twitter? It’s fine for a guy to say things like “ur relly hot wanna hit me up?” or “send me a pic of u?” Since when was this okay? And why isn’t it okay for a girl to say these things?

I know there are probably girls who have done these things to guys and maybe someone reading this has had this happen to them. So let me ask you this: did/would this make you uncomfortable? If you say no, then you are only lying to yourself. You know the second a girl shouts at you on the street you’d be a little freaked out.

Now don’t get me wrong, I appreciate a compliment. Genuine compliments from strangers are incredible and very good for a girl’s self esteem. But saying “hi, I just had to tell you that you are very pretty” is a lot different than saying “hey baby, I can’t stop staring at you, let me show you a good time.” Maybe some guys think that something like this is what a girl wants to hear, and maybe for some girls it is. But as a woman who respects herself, I’d like to say that I do not want to hear that said to me. 

Getting shouted at on the street isn’t the only reason feminism is something important. How about the fact that before feminist movements women couldn’t vote, own property, or be treated as an equal citizen? I feel as though people against feminism forget these things. Women deserve better treatment than they get, and sure these days most women are given better treatment. But as long as rape, domestic violence, and sexism exist then feminism is an important concept.

I am no one’s dog. I am not a piece of property. I am not a trophy or prize. I am not to be treated like any less than I am. Respect women, or we will lose all respect for you. 

Leave a Reply

